Hamara Beej

Friday, September 18, 2009



Bihar is located in the eastern part of the country (between 83°-30' to 88°-00' longitude). It is an entirely land–locked state, although the outlet to the sea through the port of Kolkata is not far away. Bihar lies mid-way between the humid West Bengal in the east and the sub humid Uttar Pradesh in the west which provides it with a transitional position in respect of climate, economy and culture. It is bounded by Nepal in the north and by Jharkhand in the south. The Bihar plain is divided into two unequal halves by the river Ganga which flows through the middle from west to east.

Physical Features

Latitude 21°-58'-10" ~ 27°-31'-15" N
Longitude 82°-19'-50" ~ 88°-17'-40" E
Rural Area 92,257.51 sq. kms
Urban Area 1,095.49 sq. kms
Total Area 94,163.00 sq. kms
Height above Sea-Level 173 Feet
Normal Rainfall 1,205 mm
Avg. Number of Rainy Days 52.5 Days in a Year
Administrative Units
Divisions 9
Districts 38
Sub-Divisions 101
CD Blocks 534
Panchayats 8,471
Number of Revenue Villages 45,103
Number of Urban Agglomerations 9
Number of Towns 130
- Statutory Towns 125
- Non-Statutory Towns 5
Police Stations 853
- Civil Police Stations 813
- Railway Police Stations 40
Police Districts 43
- Civil Police District 39
- Railway Police District 4
Key Statistics - as per 2001 Census (Provisional)
Population 8,28,78,796
- Male 4,31,53,964
- Female 3,97,24,832

No comments:

Post a Comment